Author:David Adams Richards

Sort

Showing 1-6 of 6

Image for Evening Snow Will Bring Such Peace

Evening Snow Will Bring Such Peace

By: David Adams Richards

Price: $4.00

Publisher: McClelland & Stewart: 1990

Seller ID: 0074592

ISBN: 0771074638

Condition: Fair


Cindi and Ivan Basterache have been married only twenty months. There is a disagreement over a loan, and rumours of violence in the ensuing quarrel begin to spread throughout the northern New Brunswick mill town in which they live, setting in motion a series of events and misunderstandings. As Ivan struggles to reconcile with Cindi, the community turns against him, fuelled by his father's self-deluded lies and misguided attempts to set things right, exposing the other side of good intentions and leading to the novel's powerful conclusion. Disturbing, tender-hearted, and at times darkly humorou... View more info

Image for The Lost Highway

The Lost Highway

By: David Adams Richards

Price: $10.50

Publisher: Anchor: 2007

Seller ID: 0069815

ISBN: 0385664974

Condition: Very good


"What had happened, from those days until now? And why had it? And how had his life gone? And who was to blame? Or why did he think he had to blame anyone? Certainly he couldn't even blame Mr. Roach, caught in the same turmoil as everyone believing half-truths in order to blame other people." (p. 141) These are the forlorn thoughts of Alex Chapman, the tragic anti-hero of David Adams Richards' masterful novel The Lost Highway. An exploration of the philosophical contortions of which man is capable, the novel tracks the desperate journey of an eternally lost and orphaned child/man who has n... View more info

Image for Mercy Among the Children

Mercy Among the Children

By: David Adams Richards

Price: $11.00

Publisher: Anchor: 2001

Seller ID: 0041236

ISBN: 0385259956

Condition: Good


Mercy Among the Children received effusive praise from the critics, was nominated for a Governor General's Award and won the Giller Prize. It was named one of 2000's best books, became a national bestseller in hardcover for months, and would be published in the US and UK. It is seen, however, as being at odds with literary fashion for concerning itself with good and evil and the human freedom to choose between them -- an approach that puts Richards, as "Maclean's" magazine says, firmly in the tradition of Tolstoy and Dostoevsky. Author Wayne Johnston recounts hearing Richards read in 1983 and ... View more info

Image for Crimes Against My Brother

Crimes Against My Brother

By: David Adams Richards

Price: $10.50

Publisher: Anchor: 2015

Seller ID: 0140491

ISBN: 0385671180

Condition: Good


View more info

For Those Who Hunt The Wounded Down

By: David Adams Richards

Price: $4.98

Publisher: M&S: 2003

Seller ID: 0140383

ISBN: 0771034873

Condition: Good


A suspenseful and moving novel which has at its centre one of Richards' most memorable and haunting characters. It is the fall of 1989 in a small Miramichi mill town. Jerry Bines is acquitted of murder and returns home to his estranged wife and young son, with hopes for a new beginning. But when he learns that Gary Percy Rils has escaped from prison, he has good reason to fear for his own safety and that of others. In his attempts to protect his family from Rils by taking him under his wing, Bines sets in motion a series of events that ultimately leads to tragedy. The story of what happens unf... View more info

Image for Nights Below Station Street

Nights Below Station Street

By: David Adams Richards

Price: $8.00

Publisher: McClelland & Stewart: 1997

Seller ID: 0088757

ISBN: 0771074670

Condition: Very good


David Adams Richards' Governor General's Award-winning novel is a powerful tale of resignation and struggle, fierce loyalties and compassion. This book is the first in Richards' acclaimed Miramichi trilogy. Set in a small mill town in northern New Brunswick, it draws us into the lives of a community of people who live there, including: Joe Walsh, isolated and strong in the face of a drinking problem; his wife, Rita, willing to believe the best about people; and their teenage daughter Adele, whose nature is rebellious and wise, and whose love for her father wars with her desire for independence... View more info