Category: Pulitzer Prize Winners

Sort

Showing 1-16 of 16

The Color Purple (Pulitzer Prize)

By: Alice Walker

Price: $4.00

Publisher: Pocket Books: 1985

Seller ID: 0004407

ISBN: 0671617028

Condition: Fair


View more info

Image for Breathing Lessons (Pulitzer Prize Winner)

Breathing Lessons (Pulitzer Prize Winner)

By: Anne Tyler

Price: $7.99

Publisher: Ballintine: 2005

Seller ID: 0137635

ISBN: 0345485572

Condition: Good


Maggie and Ira Moran have been married for twenty-eight years-and it shows: in their quarrels, in their routines, in their ability to tolerate with affection each other's eccentricities. Maggie, a kooky, lovable meddler and an irrepressible optimist, wants nothing more than to fix her son's broken marriage. Ira is infuriatingly practical, a man "who should have married Ann Landers." And what begins as a day trip to a funeral becomes an adventure in the unexpected. As Mag... View more info

The Stone Diaries (Pulitzer Prize)

By: Carol Shields

Price: $7.99

Publisher: Vintage: 2002

Seller ID: 0037257

ISBN: 0394223802

Condition: Fair


View more info

Image for The Road (Pulitzer Prize)

The Road (Pulitzer Prize)

By: Cormac Mccarthy

Price: $9.48

Publisher: Vintage: 2006

Seller ID: 0089052

ISBN: 0307476308

Condition: Good


NATIONAL BESTSELLER PULITZER PRIZE WINNERNational Book Critic's Circle Award Finalist A "New York Times" Notable BookOne of the Best Books of the Year"The Boston Globe," "The Christian Science Monitor," "The Denver Post," "The Kansas City Star," "Los Angeles Times," "New York," "People," "Rocky Mountain News," "Time," "The Village Voice," "The Washington Post" The searing, postapocalyptic novel destined to become Cormac McCarthy's masterpiece. View more info

Image for The Shipping News (Pulitzer Prize)

The Shipping News (Pulitzer Prize)

By: E Annie Proulx

Price: $5.50

Publisher: Scribner: 2001

Seller ID: 0016692

ISBN: 0743225406

Condition: Fair


When Quoyle's two-timing wife meets her just deserts, he retreats with his two daughters to his ancestral home on the starkly beautiful Newfoundland coast, where a rich cast of local characters and family members all play a part in Quoyle's struggle to reclaim his life. As Quoyle confronts his private demons -- and the unpredictable forces of nature and society -- he begins to see the possibility of love without pain or misery. A vigorous, darkly comic, and at times... View more info

Image for The Known World (Pulitzer Prize Winner)

The Known World (Pulitzer Prize Winner)

By: Edward P Jones

Price: $9.98

Publisher: Amistad: 2004

Seller ID: 0016461

ISBN: 0060557559

Condition: Good


In one of the most acclaimed novels in recent memory, Edward P. Jones, two-time National Book Award finalist, tells the story of Henry Townsend, a black farmer and former slave who falls under the tutelage of William Robbins, the most powerful man in Manchester County, Virginia. Making certain he never circumvents the law, Townsend runs his affairs with unusual discipline. But when death takes him unexpectedly, his widow, Caldonia, can't uphold the estate's order and ... View more info

Image for Angela's Ashes (Pulitzer Prize)

Angela's Ashes (Pulitzer Prize)

By: Frank McCourt

Price: $10.50

Publisher: Touchstone: 1999

Seller ID: 0016151

ISBN: 068484267X

Condition: Good


" When I look back on my childhood I wonder how I managed to survive at all. It was, of course, a miserable childhood: the happy childhood is hardly worth your while. Worse than the ordinary miserable childhood is the miserable Irish childhood, and worse yet is the miserable Irish Catholic childhood. " So begins the luminous memoir of Frank McCourt, born in Depression-era Brooklyn to recent Irish immigrants and raised in the slums of Limerick, Ireland. Frank s mother... View more info

Image for Angela's Ashes (Pulitzer Prize)

Angela's Ashes (Pulitzer Prize)

By: Frank McCourt

Price: $5.50

Publisher: Touchstone books: 1996

Seller ID: 0034362

ISBN: 0684872153

Condition: Fair


Frank McCourt's haunting memoir takes on new life when the author reads from his Pulitzer Prize-winning book. Recounting scenes from his childhood in New York City and Limerick, Ireland, McCourt paints a brutal yet poignant picture of his early days when there was rarely enough food on the table, and boots and coats were a luxury. In a melodic Irish voice that often lends a gentle humor to the unimaginable, the author remembers his wayward yet adoring father who was fore... View more info

Image for To Kill A Mockingbird  (Pulitzer Prize)

To Kill A Mockingbird (Pulitzer Prize)

By: Harper Lee

Price: $9.99

Publisher: Grand Central: 1982

Seller ID: 0013340N

ISBN: 0446310786

Condition: New Book


The unforgettable novel of a childhood in a sleepy Southern town and the crisis of conscience that rocked it, To Kill A Mockingbird became both an instant bestseller and a critical success when it was first published in 1960. It went on to win the Pulitzer Prize in 1961 and was later made into an Academy Award-winning film, also a classic. Compassionate, dramatic, and deeply moving, To Kill A Mockingbird takes readers to the roots of human behavior - to innocence and exp... View more info

Image for To Kill A Mockingbird  (Pulitzer Prize)

To Kill A Mockingbird (Pulitzer Prize)

By: Harper Lee

Price: $8.00

Publisher: Harper: 2002

Seller ID: 0091108

ISBN: 0061120081

Condition: Good


Harper Lee's Pulitzer Prize-winning masterwork of honor and injustice in the deep South -- and the heroism of one man in the face of blind and violent hatredOne of the best-loved stories of all time, To Kill a Mockingbird has been translated into more than forty languages, sold more than thirty million copies worldwide, served as the basis of an enormously popular motion picture, and was voted one of the best novels of the twentieth century by librarians across the... View more info

A Thousand Acres (Pulitzer Prize Winner)

By: Jane Smiley

Price: $5.50

Publisher: Ballantine Books: 1996

Seller ID: 0001798

ISBN: 0804115761

Condition: Good


View more info

Image for Middlesex (Pulitzer Prize)

Middlesex (Pulitzer Prize)

By: Jeffrey Eugenides

Price: $11.00

Publisher: Random: 2002

Seller ID: 0051936

ISBN: 0676975658

Condition: Good


The first words of Jeffrey Eugenides exuberant and capacious novel Middlesex""take us right to the heart of its unique narrator: "I was born twice: first, as a baby girl, on a remarkably smogless Detroit day in January of 1960; and then again, as a teenage boy, in an emergency room near Petoskey, Michigan, in August of 1974."""Middlesex is the story of Cal or Calliope Stephanides, a comic epic of a family's American life, and the expansive history of a gene trave... View more info

Image for Gilead (Pulitzer Prize)

Gilead (Pulitzer Prize)

By: Marilynne Robinson

Price: $7.99

Publisher: Picador: 2004

Seller ID: 0099741

ISBN: 031242440X

Condition: Very good


Twenty-four years after her first novel, "Housekeeping," Marilynne Robinson returns with an intimate tale of three generations from the Civil War to the twentieth century: a story about fathers and sons and the spiritual battles that still rage at America's heart. Writing in the tradition of Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman, Marilynne Robinson's beautiful, spare, and spiritual prose allows "even the faithless reader to feel the possibility of transcendent order" ("Slate"... View more info

Image for The Hours  [Pulitzer Prize]

The Hours [Pulitzer Prize]

By: Michael Cunningham

Price: $10.00

Publisher: Picador: 1998

Seller ID: 0068769

ISBN: 0312243022

Condition: Good


A daring, deeply affecting third novel by the author of "A Home at the End of the World "and "Flesh and Blood." In "The Hours," Michael Cunningham, widely praised as one of the most gifted writers of his generation, draws inventively on the life and work of Virginia Woolf to tell the story of a group of contemporary characters struggling with the conflicting claims of love and inheritance, hope and despair. The narrative of Woolf's last days before her suicide early ... View more info

Image for Five Days At Memorial  (Pulitzer Prize)

Five Days At Memorial (Pulitzer Prize)

By: Shei Frank

Price: $7.99

Publisher: Crown: 2013

Seller ID: 0133506

ISBN: 0307718964

Condition: Good


Extra shipping charges may apply to this book View more info

Image for Beloved  (Pulitzer Prize Winner)

Beloved (Pulitzer Prize Winner)

By: Toni Morrison

Price: $7.99

Publisher: A.A. Knopf: 1987

Seller ID: 0136083

ISBN: 037540273X

Condition: Good


Extra shipping charges may apply to this book View more info